Happy March! We are beginning this month with our own MADNESS, for books, that is. For readers of African Diaspora literature, we are off and running with a myriad of amazing book releases thus far.

In honor of Women’s History Month. I have selected a few books written or edited by black women that were released between January 1st through the publishing of this post.

When They Call You a Terrorist: A Black Lives Matter Memoir by Patrisse Khan & Asha Bandele.

This Will Be My Undoing: Living at the Intersection of Black, Female, and Feminist in (White) America by Morgan Jerkins.

We Are Taking Only What We Need: Stories (Art of the Story) Stephanie Powell Watts

Where The Line Bleeds by Jesmyn Ward

Mouths Don’t Speak – Katia D. Ulysse.

The Darkest Child – Delores Phillips

The Wedding Date – Jasmine Guillory

All The Women In My Family Sing – Edited by Deborah Santana

The Belles by Dhonielle Clayton

Eloquent Rage – A Black Feminist Discovers Her Superpower by Brittney Cooper

Halsey Street – Naima Coster

Whiskey & Ribbons by Leesa Cross- Smith

Happiness by Aminatta Forna

So You Want to Talk About Race by Ijeoma Oluo

An American Marriage by Tayari Jones

Feel Free – Zadie Smith

Black Girls Rock – Owning Our Magic, Rocking Our Truth – Edited by Beverly Bond

Young, Gifted and Black: Meet 52 Black Heroes from Past and Present by Jamia Wilson (Author),‎ Andrea Pippins (Illustrator)

Jamia Wilson

Eighteen great selections! You can select books to build your personal reading list or for your upcoming book club selection.

Happy Reading!



Pin It on Pinterest

Share This